Can Americans Claim 2 Chronicles 7:14?

This post originally appeared as a note I put up on Facebook in 2011. I’ve put it here in Common Sense Bible Reading because it’s a good example of using context to interpret and understand the Bible to keep us from “bad theology,” which I talked about in the first blog post here.

Over the last few years I have frequently heard the following quote from 2 Chronicles 7:14 presented as an encouraging call for prayer on the part of American Christians to pray for the nation, drawing on this passage as a promise to heal the land of people who call on God for forgiveness:

“If my people who are called by My name humble themselves and pray and seek My face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, will forgive their sin and will heal their land.”

I’d like to take a look at this passage in its context beginning a chapter before to see what exactly is being said here. To give a small hint at the conclusion, I’ll just mention here that I’ve purposely misquoted this verse to accord with the way it is typically remembered.

This statement from God occurred at Solomon’s dedication of the temple. At this dedication, beginning at 6:1, Solomon faced the people of Israel and said,

“Blessed be the Lord, the God of Israel, who spoke with His mouth to my father David and has fulfilled it with His hands, saying, ‘Since the day that I brought My people from the land of Egypt, I did not choose a city out of all the tribes of Israel in which to build a house that My name might be there, nor did I choose any man for a leader over My people Israel; but I have chosen Jerusalem that My name might be there, and I have chosen David to be over My people Israel.’” (2 Chr. 6:4-6)

After bringing up remembrance of the covenant for the people of Israel, Solomon then prays to God:

“Now therefore, O Lord, the God of Israel, keep with Your servant David, my father, that which You have promised him, saying, ‘You shall not lack a man to sit on the throne of Israel, if only your sons take heed to their way, to walk in My law as you have walked before Me.’ “Now therefore, O Lord, the God of Israel, let Your word be confirmed which You have spoken to Your servant David.” (2 Chr. 6:16-17)

Later that day, God appeared to Solomon in response and said the following (emphases mine):

“I have heard your prayer and have chosen this place for Myself as a house of sacrifice. If I shut up the heavens so that there is no rain, or if I command the locust to devour the land, or if I send pestilence among My people, and My people who are called by My name humble themselves and pray and seek My face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, will forgive their sin and will heal their land.

Look at these words that appear in the passage….

“If,” “if,” “if,” “and,” “then”…

This is a very specific, conditional statement that looks to a previous agreement, which is the land blessing/cursing promises of the Mosaic Covenant, the Law of Moses, made between God and His covenant people Israel at Mt. Sinai. From the beginning of Chapter 6 this whole passage has everything to do with the nation Israel. Remembering that Israel and the Church are distinct entities throughout all of Scripture, promises like these do not involve the Church. Although Romans 9-11 describes the Church as the ingrafted branch into “true Israel,” all that is being described in those chapters is the fact that all are saved by grace through faith, in the way Abraham was (Gen. 15:6), not that the Church has replaced Israel, becoming the new recipient of Old Testament promises to Israel. Prophecies about Israel have not all been fulfilled, meaning that those land promises are still in effect, and are not ultimately being fulfilled solely in a “spiritual” sense by the Church today. This promise was not made to the New Testament church, much less to the United States of America. How would this apply to our nation? Are we the chosen people of God? How could a conditional promise to Israel be part of America’s relationship with God?

One reason it is so easy for many to see “my people who are called by my name” as being Christians is Christ followers are literally called by the name of Christ. But what God is actually saying is “my people who are called by, associated with and are identified with My reputation.” If you read Daniel’s prayer in Daniel 9, you see this clearly. Daniel is praying for restoration of Israel and removal from their exile in Babylon. Daniel refers back to God’s rescue of Israel from Egypt and he says that through that “You made a name for yourself,” and then requests forgiveness and restoration from their sin “For Your name’s sake.” “My people who are called by my name” refers to the relationship between Israel and God’s reputation that is either helped or hindered by their behavior. 

I’m not writing this to be a kill-joy or to ruin anyone’s day. I’m not even writing to say that God has no positive dealings with the United States. I’m only saying that if we’re going to look through Scripture to find encouragement or direction as far as what are spiritual obligation is to our country, we should do so in a way that is truthful and faithful to Scripture, “accurately handling the Word of truth.” We cannot expect God to uphold promises He never made. This is being a false witness of God, making untrue claims about Him…obviously something we should take great care to not do.

Now, this look at 2 Chronicles 6-7 does not in any way negate the forgiving and restorative nature of God’s character. This we can in fact take away from this passage as an application for us Gentiles. God brings about affliction or chastisement to those of His followers who are living contrary to His Word in an attempt to restore them to fruitfulness. When God does this to us, and we repent, He forgives and restores us. It’s a great encouragement to know we’re never too far gone to be restored in God’s eyes, although a life of fruitless living results in loss of reward in heaven (1 Cor. 3).

As Americans we have a responsibility to submit to our governing authorities, and to pray for and support our nation, and God surely has a hand in what’s going on in all nations of the world, but it is not fair to hold God to a promise He never made to America.

One thought on “Can Americans Claim 2 Chronicles 7:14?

  1. Pingback: Why Christians Should Read a Jewish Study Bible | OBC Pastor's Blog

Leave a comment